Chief Executive Officer (CEO) - Annwyn Godwin

Ms Annwyn Godwin was appointed as the inaugural CEO of the Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority (IPEA) on 1 January 2018.

Ms Godwin has previously held the dual appointments of Australian Public Service Merit Protection Commissioner and Parliamentary Service Merit Protection Commissioner over two terms since 2008.

Ms Godwin joined the Australian Public Service in 1990 and has extensive experience in corporate and related fields. Over her career she has served in the Senior Executive Service in a number of agencies and departments including, Customs, Immigration and Agriculture. She has also served as Norfolk Island Public Service Commissioner.

      •  Organisation Structure Chart [PDF 475.91 KB]

      •  Organisation Structure Chart [DOC 84.76 KB]


Members of the Authority

IPEA is also guided by independent Members of the Authority who were appointed by the Governor-General. Each Member has a range of relevant skills and experience and they are responsible for the statutory functions of IPEA.

Ms Jillian Segal AM has been appointed Chair of this Authority. Joining Ms Segal as Members of the Authority are Mr John Conde AO – the President of the Remuneration Tribunal, the Hon. Gary Gray AO, Dr Julianne Jaques and the Hon. Jeffrey Spender QC.

Chair - Ms Jillian Segal AM

Ms Segal has a broad range of experience both in the public and private sectors particularly in the fields of governance, remuneration, risk and audit. Ms Segal is  currently a Non-Executive Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Deputy Chancellor of the University of New South Wales  and a Chair of the General Sir John Monash Foundation. She is also a Trustee of the Sydney Opera House, Chair of Australia-Israel Chamber of Commerce NSW, a Director of Rabobank Australia Limited and Rabobank New Zealand Limited and a Director of the Grattan Institute.

Ms Segal has a BA LLB from the University of New South Wales and an LLM from Harvard Law School. She started her legal career as Associate to The Right Honourable Sir Anthony Mason, then a Justice at the High Court of Australia.

Ms Segal went on to become a Commissioner and later Deputy Chair of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), after which she became a review member of the Dawson Review into the Trade Practices Act. In 2003 she set out to pursue a non-executive career. Since that time, she has held a range of corporate and government advisory board positions.

Ms Segal was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2003 for services to society through business leadership, and was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 2005 for services to business law.

Member - Mr John Conde AO

As President of the Remuneration Tribunal, Mr Conde serves automatically as a Member of IPEA.

Mr Conde was appointed as a member of the Remuneration Tribunal in 1998 and then reappointed on 19 March 2013 as Member and President for a further five years from 25 June 2013. He is Chairman of Cooper Energy Limited and the McGrath Foundation. He is Deputy Chairman of Whitehaven Coal Limited and a Director of Dexus Property Group. He retired recently as Chairman of Bupa Australia (2008 – 2018).

In 2015-16, Mr Conde was Co-Chair of the Review Committee that prepared the Review: An Independent Parliamentary Entitlements System, the findings of which formed the basis for the establishment of the new expenses framework and IPEA. 

Member - Dr Julianne Jaques

Dr Jaques is a commercial barrister and chartered accountant with extensive experience in public administration, corporate governance and audit. Dr Jaques served as a senior taxation adviser to the Assistant Treasurer from 1999-2001. In recent years she has been briefed by the Commissioner for Taxation on a number of significant matters relating to Project Wickenby.

Dr Jaques is a current member of the Tax Institute Victorian State Council and Professional Development Committee, the Tax Bar Association Committee, the Tax Practitioners Board and the Board of Taxation. She holds Bachelor of Economics and Laws degrees from Monash University, and a Doctorate in Juridical Science from the University of Melbourne.

Member - The Hon Jeffrey Spender QC

Mr Spender is a former Judge of the Federal Court of Australia, having served from 1984-2010. He practised at the Queensland Bar from 1967-1984, and was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1983.

Mr Spender served as a presidential member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, and as an additional judge of the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory.


Acting Member - The Hon. Nick Minchin

Mr Minchin was a Senator for South Australia from 1993-2011, and held several positions including in the Ministry and Shadow Ministry. Notably Mr Minchin served as Special Minister of State from 1997-1998 and the Minister of Finance and Administration from 2001-07.

Mr Minchin has been the member of several not-for-profit boards. He recently returned from New York where he was the Australian Consul-General from 2014-2017.




Member - The Hon. Gary Gray AO (leave of absence)

Mr Gray was National Secretary of the Australian Labor Party from 1993-2000. He served as a Federal Parliamentarian from 2007-2016 and as Special Minister of State and Minister for the Public Service and Integrity from 2010 until 2013, and Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism and Minister for Small Business in 2013.

Mr Gray's business background includes Executive Director at the WA Institute of Medical Research, Senior Executive of Australia's largest oil and gas company, Woodside Energy, which he represented before governments and customers on four continents, and his current role as Senior Executive at Mineral Resources Ltd in Perth. He was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001 and he became an Officer in the Order of Australia in 2003. He is a director on the boards of the ASC Pty Ltd and Hillman Primary School in Rockingham WA.