Members of the Authority

From 1 July 2017 IPEA will consist of five Members, appointed by the Governor-General.

Each of the Members of the Authority is highly regarded in their field of expertise. Collectively they satisfy the specific appointment requirements of the Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority Act 2017.

IPEA'S members are:

  • Ms Jillian Segal AM (Chair);
  • Mr John Conde AO—the President of the Remuneration Tribunal;
  • the Hon. Gary Gray AO;
  • Dr Julianne Jaques; and
  • the Hon. Jeffrey Spender QC.

Chair - Ms Jillian Segal AM

Chair - Ms Jillian Segal AMMs Segal has a broad range of experience both in the public and private sectors particularly in the fields of governance, remuneration and audit. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Deputy Chancellor of UNSW Australia, Chair of the General Sir John Monash Foundation, a Trustee of the Sydney Opera House and Chair of AICC (NSW).

Ms Segal has a BA LL.B from the University of New South Wales and an LL.M from Harvard Law School. She started her legal career as Associate to The Right Honourable Sir Anthony Mason, then a Justice at the High Court of Australia.

Ms Segal went on to become a Commissioner and later Deputy Chair of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), after which she became a review member of the Dawson Review into the Trade Practices Act. In 2003 she set out to pursue a non-executive career. Since that time, she has held a range of corporate and government advisory board positions.

Ms Segal was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2003 for services to society through business leadership, and appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 2005 for services to business law.

Member - Mr John Conde AO

Member - Mr John Conde AOAs President of the Remuneration Tribunal, Mr Conde will automatically serve as a Member of IPEA when it becomes a statutory authority.

Mr Conde was appointed as a member of the Remuneration Tribunal in 1998. He is Chairman of several boards, including Bupa Australia Health Pty Ltd, the McGrath Foundation and Cooper Energy. He is Deputy Chairman of Whitehaven Coal Limited and a Director of Dexus Property Group.

In 2015-16, Mr Conde was Co-Chair of the Review Committee that prepared the review: An Independent Parliamentary Entitlements System, the findings of which formed the basis for the establishment of IPEA.

Member - The Hon. Gary Gray AO

Member - The Hon. Gary Gray AOMr Gray was National Secretary of the Australian Labor Party from 1993-2000. He served as a Federal Parliamentarian from 2007-16 and as Special Minister of State and Minister for the Public Service and Integrity from 2010 until 2013, and Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister for Tourism and Minister for Small Business in 2013.

Mr Gray's business background includes Executive Director at the WA Institute of Medical Research, Senior Executive of Australia's largest oil and gas company, Woodside Energy, which he represented before governments and customers on four continents, and his current role as Senior Executive at Mineral Resources Ltd in Perth. He was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001 and he became an Officer in the Order of Australia in 2003.  He is a director on the boards of the ASC Pty Ltd and Hillman Primary School in Rockingham WA.

Member - Dr Julianne Jaques

Dr Jaques is a commercial barrister and chartered accountant with extensive experience in public administration, corporate governance and audit.  Dr Jaques served as a senior taxation adviser to the Assistant Treasurer from 1999-2001. In recent years she has been briefed by the Commissioner for Taxation on a number of significant matters relating to Project Wickenby.

Dr Jaques is a current member of the Tax Institute Victorian State Council and Professional Development Committee, the Tax Bar Association Committee, the Tax Practitioners Board and the Board of Taxation. She holds Bachelor of Economics and Laws degrees from Monash University, and a Doctorate in Juridical Science from the University of Melbourne.

Member - The Hon Jeffrey Spender QC

Member - The Hon Jeffrey Spender QCMr Spender is a former Judge of the Federal Court of Australia, having served from 1984-2010.  He practised at the Queensland Bar from 1967-1984, and was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1983. 

Mr Spender served as a presidential member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, and as an additional judge of the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory.